Driving Without a License in Ocala

Defending You Against Felony and Misdemeanor Charges

If you were charged with driving without a license in Ocala, Gainesville or any of the surrounding areas of Florida, we can help. The Law Offices of Jorge Luis Colón, P.A., is proud to protect the constitutional rights of our clients. Our law firm is committed to the zealous representation of clients charged with a wide range of felonies and misdemeanors, including driving without a license or driving on a suspended or revoked license.

Penalties for Driving While License Suspended/Revoked

If you are convicted of driving while license suspended/revoked (DWLS/R), you will face the following legal consequences:

DWLS/R OffensePenalties
First offense
  • Unknowingly driving without a license is considered a civil offense and is often punished with a fine.
  • Knowingly driving without a license is considered a criminal misdemeanor and may be punished with up to two months in jail and $500 in fines.
Second offense within five years
  • A second offense may result in up to 12 months in jail and $500 in fines.
  • Under the Florida Contraband Forfeiture Act, law enforcement can seize the offender's vehicle.
Third offense within five years
  • A third offense will result in a five-year driver's license suspension and the offending party will be labeled a habitual offender.
  • Penalties may include felony charges, up to five years in prison and $5,000 in fines.

Elements the State Must Prove in Order to Convict You

According to Florida Statute 322.34(2), the state must prove the following three elements beyond a reasonable doubt in order to convict you of driving while your license was suspended, revoked or canceled:

  1. You drove a motor vehicle on a highway in Florida.
  2. Your license was suspended, revoked or canceled at the time.
  3. You were aware at the time that your license had been suspended, revoked or canceled.

According to Florida Statute 322.03, the state must prove the following two elements beyond a reasonable doubt in order to convict you of driving without a valid license:

  1. You drove a motor vehicle upon a highway in Florida.
  2. You did not have a valid driver's license recognized by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles of the state of Florida at the time.

Talk to a Gainesville Attorney for a Suspended License

If you are facing charges of driving on a suspended or revoked license, do not talk to the police without a lawyer. Contact our office immediately for a free initial consultation. Call the Law Offices of Jorge Luis Colón, P.A., at 352-484-1845 or toll free at 888-459-5051, or send us an e-mail. We are ready to help you protect your rights and navigate this intimidating and difficult process.